Warning: preg_match(): Compilation failed: invalid range in character class at offset 24 in /home/hesomagazine/www/www/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/shortcodes/mixcloud.php on line 28

Warning: preg_match(): Compilation failed: invalid range in character class at offset 24 in /home/hesomagazine/www/www/wp-content/plugins/jetpack/modules/shortcodes/mixcloud.php on line 32

One of the few creative-ish things I still force myself to make time for is the radio show I have been doing for about 5 years, Beard Radio, on KUCB, the local public radio station on the tiny island I live on in Alaska. Every Friday night for the last 250 or so weeks (give or take a few trips off island) at 10pm (replay Monday at 8pm) Beard Radio has attempted to strike a balance between the music that I love and what I think people want to hear. Let me be the first to say that I don’t have a huge audience, but as anyone who ever saw Pump Up The Volume knows, when it comes to radio, someone somewhere is listening. Hopefully it’s the people that the music connects to somehow. More than likely it’s people at work who have no other options.

Despite being overworked and a father of two small children, which means often not having time to find any new artist that I like or that has released an album that is radio-friendly, I still push myself to attempt to please all listeners. Which doesn’t mean that it happens. My overactive imagination has shown me all sorts of crocheting fireside listeners groaning melodramatically at a three-week long Lou Reed Tribute, my obsession with post-emo Emo, and the head-scratching cross-genre juxtapositions I give airtime to. Regardless of my own overwrought machinations I persevere, because i think mostly listeners do enjoy hearing fresh tracks that are underplayed (or mostly not played at all except on college campuses), as well as the fact that it gives me a kind of catharsis that I can’t believe the local station GM lets me get away with. So without further loquatiousness, here are Some Great Albums of 2017:

  • Peter Perrett – How the West was Won
  • Curtis Harding – Face Your Fear
  • Big Thief – Capacity
  • Slowdive – Slowdive
  • Girlpool – Powerplant
  • Jay Som – Everybody Works
  • Priests – Nothing Feels Natural
  • Thundercat – Drunk
  • Julien Baker – Turn Out the Lights
  • Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rest
  • Miguel Zenón – Típico
  • Waxahatchee – Out in the Storm
  • Kaitlyn Aurelia Smith – The Kid
  • Alvvays – Antisocialites
  • Torres – Three Futures
  • The National – Sleep Well Beast
  • ÌFÉ – iiii+iiii
  • Moses Sumney – Aromanticism
  • Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit – The Nashville Sound
  • St. Vincent – Masseduction
  • Broken Social Scene – Hug of Thunder
  • Wolf Parade – Cry Cry Cry
  • Courtney Barnett & Kurt Vile – Lotta Sea Lice
  • The War on Drugs – A Deeper Understanding
  • Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Luciferian Towers
  • The xx – I See You
  • The Jesus and Mary Chain – Damage and Joy
  • LCD Soundsystem – American Dream
  • Jlin – Black Origami